Aphex Twin Announces Listening Parties for New Album

Update** 29/08/2014

You can listen to Aphex Twin’s new album a bit before it comes out.  The listening events for ‘Syro’ will be held in cities in UK, France, USA, Canada, Belgium and Netherlands.


Fans will be able to enter a lottery for tickets which begins on Sunday, 31st August and closes Tuesday, 2nd September. You can find out about the lottery process here


Update** 24/08/2014 

‘SYRO’ is set to drop on September 22 on Warp Records. You can pre-order the album here. We have learned that the artwork simply displays the costs that went into making the record. Apparently, the album will be released in an edition of 200 on vinyl, and will cost around £250, which seems fair. 


Aphex Twin ‘Syro’ tracklist: 

01. minipops 67 [120.2][source field mix] [aka the manchester track]
02. XMAS_EVET10 [120][thanaton3 mix]
03. produk 29 [101]
04. 4 bit 9d api+e+6 [126.26]
05. 180db_ [130]  
06. CIRCLONT6A [141.98][syrobonkus mix]
07. fz pseudotimestretch+e+3 [138.85]
08. CIRCLONT14 [152.97][shrymoming mix]
09. syro u473t8+e [141.98][piezoluminescence mix]
10. PAPAT4 [155][pineal mix]
11. s950tx16wasr10 [163.97][earth portal mix]
12. aisatsana [102]

We were expecting something from Aphex Twins aka Richard David James after a blimp bearing the Aphex Twin logo and the numbers ‘2014’ flew over London this weekend. The logo was also spotted outside Manhattan’s Radio City Music Hall, outside the Music Hall of Williamsburg, and near New York’s SoHo Apple Store.


Aphex Twin has just tweeted a strange link ending in .onion, the domain which is generally used when accessing the Deep Web. The link reveals what appears to be a new album titled SYRO, with a tracklist as seen in the image below.


“The most inventive and influential figure in contemporary electronic music”, described by The Guardian, James hasn’t been active since 2001 when he released his fifth Drukqs. SYRO follows the recent discovery of Caustic Window, (via a Kickstarter campaign) a lost Aphex Twin album from 1994.


You must be logged in to post a comment